Tuesday, January 28, 2014

2014 ALA Award Winners Announced

The American Library Association has released the list of its 2014 literary winners.  I'll soon be ordering a copy of most of these for our collection, so be sure to stop by and see what we have in a couple weeks.

John Newbery Medal

Flora and Ulysses:  The Illuminated Adventures
by Kate DiCamillo
(who happens to be my favorite children's author and has won the Newbery multiple times)

John Newbery Honor Awards

Doll Bones by Holly Black

The Year of Billy Miller by Kevin Henkes

One Came Home by Amy Timberlake

Paperboy by Vince Vawter

Michael L. Printz Award 

by Marcus Sedgwick

 Michael L. Printz Honor Awards

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

Kingdom of Little Wounds by Susann Cokal

Maggot Moon by Sally Gardner

Navigating Early by Clare Vanderpool

Coretta Scott King Award

P.S. Be Eleven
by Rita Williams-Garcia

Coretta Scott King Honor Awards

March:  Book One by John Lewis and Andrew Aydin

Darius and Twig by Walter Dean Myers

Words With Wings by Nikki Grimes